WEDNESDAY · 23 SEPTEMBER 2026 · SOUTH AFRICAPublic records, projects and institutions
CLCIVIC LEDGERSouth Africa’s public economy, documented.
NewsletterLatest
Transport & Roads · 22 September 2026 SOURCE UPDATE

eThekwini says KwaMashu–uMdloti road project is 96% complete

The city’s Executive Committee briefing put the N2 project at 96% completion and listed 2 November 2026 as its expected completion date.

96%KwaMashu–uMdloti, as reported by the city44.6%EB Cloete Interchange, as reported by the city2 Nov 2026Expected completion date for the N2 project
Read the sourced update
Today’s LedgerVerified record counts · 23 September 2026
16open tender records
>R1bnreported Maydon Wharf investment
2tenders close within 7 days
23published launch stories
Procurement Monitor

Opportunities and deadlines

Open the Tender Board →

Tender records carry reference numbers, dates, institution, status and original-source links. Unreported values remain undisclosed.

Source discipline

Programme value is not contract value.

Every amount is labelled as budgeted, estimated, committed, contracted or spent where the source supports that distinction. If the document does not state a value, the record says so.

Read the standards →
Infrastructure

Assets being built, repaired and planned

Infrastructure desk →
Under ConstructionCL-PROJ-000145

N2 KwaMashu–uMdloti upgrade

Major N2 upgrade between KwaMashu and uMdloti. eThekwini reported the project at 96% completion on 22 September 2026, with completion expected by 2 November 2026.

Roads · Northern eThekwini, KwaZulu-Natal · Value not stated · Verified 23 September 2026
Under ConstructionCL-PROJ-000146

EB Cloete Interchange upgrade

N3 interchange upgrade. eThekwini reported 44.6% completion and an expected September 2028 completion date on 22 September 2026.

Roads · Durban, KwaZulu-Natal · Value not stated · Verified 23 September 2026
CompletedCL-PROJ-000147

Durban Inner-City Road Rehabilitation Programme

eThekwini reported rehabilitation of 13 inner-city roads during 2025/26 and more than R127m invested through the programme. The release did not provide a full contract-by-contract schedule.

Roads · Durban inner city, KwaZulu-Natal · Value not stated · Verified 23 September 2026
PlanningCL-PROJ-000148

Illovo Railway Bridge reconstruction

Reconstruction of the flood-damaged Illovo Railway Bridge. eThekwini and PRASA said in April 2026 that they would fast-track the work; no value, construction start or completion date was stated in that release.

Rail · Illovo, KwaZulu-Natal · Value not stated · Verified 23 September 2026
Durban Desk

eThekwini, the port and the city’s development pipeline

Open the Durban desk →
Public Finance

Budgets, allocations and capital delivery

Open public finance →
Public Finance · Analysis

eThekwini council record lists R2.1bn wastewater PPP and R1.1bn aqueduct

A council decisions record lists two regional wastewater works for PPP delivery at a reported R2.1bn and the Southern Aqueduct at about R1.1bn. Those programme figures do not, by themselves, prove that the full amounts have been contracted or spent.

Project Tracker

Projects to watch

Open all 22 project records →
Under ConstructionCL-PROJ-000145

N2 KwaMashu–uMdloti upgrade

Major N2 upgrade between KwaMashu and uMdloti. eThekwini reported the project at 96% completion on 22 September 2026, with completion expected by 2 November 2026.

Roads · Northern eThekwini, KwaZulu-Natal · Value not stated · Verified 23 September 2026
Under ConstructionCL-PROJ-000146

EB Cloete Interchange upgrade

N3 interchange upgrade. eThekwini reported 44.6% completion and an expected September 2028 completion date on 22 September 2026.

Roads · Durban, KwaZulu-Natal · Value not stated · Verified 23 September 2026
CompletedCL-PROJ-000147

Durban Inner-City Road Rehabilitation Programme

eThekwini reported rehabilitation of 13 inner-city roads during 2025/26 and more than R127m invested through the programme. The release did not provide a full contract-by-contract schedule.

Roads · Durban inner city, KwaZulu-Natal · Value not stated · Verified 23 September 2026
PlanningCL-PROJ-000148

Illovo Railway Bridge reconstruction

Reconstruction of the flood-damaged Illovo Railway Bridge. eThekwini and PRASA said in April 2026 that they would fast-track the work; no value, construction start or completion date was stated in that release.

Rail · Illovo, KwaZulu-Natal · Value not stated · Verified 23 September 2026
The Morning Ledger

A concise weekday briefing on South Africa’s public economy.

What changed, new tenders, awards, infrastructure, cities, useful documents and deadlines.